2 Comments

I always took it to mean that the person exuded the energy of someone who was overly concerned that they had a small dick and was trying to compensate for it- whether they, objectively speaking, had a small one or not.

Still, I have tried to excise it from my vocabulary, as people I love in my life who have penises have expressed anxiety over the subject.

Expand full comment

I agree with you, it's definitely talking about size of body parts, and even though I get that it is supposed to be talk about the "energy" of people, it's based on the assumption that people with big body parts will be casually confident and people with small body parts will believe themselves less than and strive for approval/attention, which is definitely perpetuating the idea that some sizes of body parts are better than others. I have experienced enough of that garbage regarding breast size myself so I am not going to perpetuate the BDE and SDE tropes, though neither will I scold Greta Thunberg for using it.

Expand full comment